Having trouble with Execute SQL command

Dec 21, 2010 at 6:09 PM

Hi,

I'm new with the custom action in SPD. I installed your package on my server and It's work well :) Thanks you

But I need to get help with the "Execute SQL" action. I got a list with those column :

Number / Year / Name

• 1 / 2008 / Andre
  • 2 / 2008 / Jean
  • 1 / 2009 / Michel
  • 2 / 2009 / Andrew
  • 3 / 2009 / Jack
  • 4 / 2009 / Pierre
  • 1 / 2010 / Lewis
  • 3 / 2008 / Steve

I would get the next number for the year that has been inserted. So when I create a new element, the user enters the date (year) and the name of a person, we must assign a new number to each line at its inception. So my problem is, what is the provider and the datasource that I have to put in the action to obtain the information of this list.

And when I do my select, Do I write Select [Column name] from [ListID] where [My condition] ?

Thanks you

Alexandre(Sorry, if my english isn't so good)

Coordinator
Dec 22, 2010 at 10:16 AM

Hello,

do you mean that you would like to access the SharePoint List over SQL? This is not recommended.

However, SharePoint stores all the list data in a single table http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd585240(v=office.11).aspx

The title of the columns are stored in another table.

The execute sql action can only return an single value.

Bye,

Christian

Dec 22, 2010 at 1:39 PM

Hello christian,

Yes , I would like to access to the Sharepoint List. But why isn't recommenced ?

I just need a single value, So this option does not bother me. Else If I put an excel table or an Access database on my server, I can access to this db with a path and his provider ? And can we do Insert , delete or Update on those table ?

Bye

Alexandre

Coordinator
Dec 23, 2010 at 8:38 AM

Hi Alexandre,