PowerWebpart / List all Sitecollections

May 6, 2009 at 9:27 AM
Hi,

first of all: many thanks for this great webpart!! :)

As i'm new to PowerShell i'm not sure how to realize this:

I like to use the powerwebpart to create a list of hyperlinks to all Sitecollections in the webapp where the user has access to. (At least Read Permissions)

Can you give me any CodeSnippets / Examples how i can realise this!? I'm not sure how to pass the User and also render the result as html...

Thanks!

Mich
May 6, 2009 at 2:08 PM
After "Playing around" i have the following script:

[

string]$siteUrl = http://MOSSURL
[
string]$userToFind
= "DOMAIN\USER"
function showAllApplication
{
if($args[0].Sites -ne $Null){foreach($spSiteColl in $args[0].Sites){showAllSiteCollection $spSiteColl ($args[1] + 2)
$spSiteColl.Dispose()
}
}
}
function showAllSiteCollection
{
$sc = $args[0].OpenWeb()
$output = ($sc.URL)
if ($sc.DoesUserHavePermissions($userToFind, 131072) -eq "True")
{
Write-Output $output}
$output | out-file "C:\MYSiteCollections.txt" -append
$sc.Dispose()
}
$rootSite = New-Object Microsoft.SharePoint.SPSite($siteUrl)
$spWebApp = $rootSite.WebApplication
showAllApplication
$spWebApp 1
$rootSite.Dispose()

This script works fine from the ps commandline... Now i need to know the following to inculde it into the powerwebpart:

1. How can i use the RunAs-System Statement within this Script? Because I need it for "DoesUserHavePermissions"
  2. How can I pass the Username who has opened the site with the powerwebpart to the Script
  3. How can i render the results?

Many Questions ;) I hope somebody can help!

Thanks!

Mich

Coordinator
May 7, 2009 at 7:07 PM
Hi Mich,

just one question before I'll post an example. Do you want to get the sub webs for current user?
Maybe this would be the right method: GetSubWebsForCurrentUser http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.sharepoint.spweb.getsubwebsforcurrentuser.aspx